NCTU Nanophotonics

View count: 3381


2_7c2fd973.jpgCurriculum Vitae


Professor Tien-chang Lu received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from National Taiwan University, Taiwan, R.O.C., in 1995, the M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from University of Southern California, USA, in 1998, and the Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, in 2004. He was with the Union Optronics Corporation as a Manager of Epitaxy Department in 2004. Since August 2005, he has been with National Chiao Tung University as a full-time professor in Department of Photonics. In 2007, he went to Ginzton lab, Department of Applied Physics at Stanford University as a visiting scholar. He served as the director of the Institute of Lighting and Energy Photonics, National Chiao Tung University from 2009 to 2011. From 2017, his serves as the director of Tin Ka Ping Opto-Electronics Research Center. And from 2018, he has been elected as the chairman of Department of Photonics, National Chiao Tung University.

Prof. Lu’s research works includes the design, epitaxial growth, process, and characterization of optoelectronic devices. He has been engaged in the low-pressure MOCVD epitaxial technique associated with various material systems as well as the corresponding process skills. He is also interested in tailoring the light-matter interaction in micro or even nano-scale architectures, such as the microcavity, photonic crystal and plasmonic structures. Especially, Prof. Lu has been devoting to wide-gap materials and device research and has several breakthroughs, such as the first current injection blue VCSEL, photonic crystal surface emitting lasers and microcavity exciton-polariton lasers and world’s smallest plasmonic nanolasers.

Prof. Lu has authored and co-authored more than 200 international journal papers. He is a recipient of The Exploration Research Award of Pan Wen Yuan Foundation 2007, Excellent Young Electronic Engineer Award 2008, Young Optical Engineering Award 2010, International Micro-Optics Conference Contribution Award 2011, Dr Ta-Yu Wu’s Memorial Award 2012, Y. Z. Hsu Scientific Paper Award 2016 and Distinguished Professor of NCTU. He is an OSA fellow since 2017, senior members of IEEE and SPIE. He also severed as deputy editor of IEEE J. Lightwave Technology, associate editors of IEEE J. Quantum Electronics and Chinese Optics Letters.